RE NEWS

 

RE NEWS by Joanne Dingus

Who are the people in our neighborhood? That’s the question I asked in children’s focus recently. At General Assembly, we were asked to reach out, spread the good news of Unitarian Universalism. We were told that churches that keep their focus inward dwindle and die. Churches that cast their focus outward grow and thrive.

We have been located in the same place for 36 years, yet we don’t know our neighbors. Very few of our congregants live in our neighborhood.

I met recently with James Moynihan of One Church Ministries and he talked about Asset Based Community Development which calls on neighbors and institutions to work together to build stronger more sustainable communities.

As I mentioned in my children’s focus, we may have an opportunity to work with some of our neighbors on a clean-up project they hope to do this fall.

James Moynihan said there are three types of ministries. One that is in a neighborhood, one that does things for or to a neighborhood and one that is with a neighborhood.

At General Assembly, we were also called to stand up against injustice, to speak out against racism, to use our UU values to build beloved community. I would like our church to begin reaching out to our neighbors to find out what changes they would like to see. I would like us to ask them how we could be supportive in helping them reach their goals. I would like us to be the kind of ministry that works with our neighbors.

See you in RE!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RE NEWS

  1. Sarah says:

    Awesome idea Joanne!

  2. Lehni says:

    I like tis idea of working with our neighbors. I am one of the few that lives near the UUFP, but I am a homebody and haven’t really known my neighbors. How do I get involved with the clean up project?

Comments are closed.