Farewell, but not Goodbye

by Chris Hockman, Intern Minister

It’s been a wonderful two years with you, UUFP! As I get ready to move to Texas, I wanted to give you an update on some of my final activities with you.

But first, let me tell you where I’ve been . . .

IMG_1500

Graduation with uncles Larry and George

During the first week of May I was in Corpus Christi, Texas during what is called a “candidating week.” This is when prospective ministers chosen by a congregation’s search committee meet the full congregation, preaching two Sundays and spending the week in between doing a lot of meeting and greeting. The second Sunday service culminates in a congregational vote to settle the minister. My week in “Corpus” (as the locals call it) was a terrific one. I got to meet many lovely folks who are committed to their congregation. Plus, I received a unanimous vote on May 8th to become the settled minister of Unitarian Universalist Church of Corpus Christi.

Sunday, May 15th was my graduation from Meadville Lombard Theological School in Chicago. Joined by my uncles Larry and George and best friend Kim, we had a great weekend participating in graduation events and seeing the sights of the “windy city.” An added bonus was the presence of UUFP’s own Pat Sloan at my graduation ceremony at First Unitarian Church of Chicago. What a treat to have her there representing the intern committee and all of you!

This coming Sunday, May 22, is my official “goodbye” Sunday at UUFP, during which I’ll be participating in services. But then, almost as if it never happened, I will be back as a full-fledged guest minister to lead services on the 29th.

And last but not least, the big finale – my ordination ceremony at First UU of Richmond, which will take place at 4:00 pm on Saturday, June 11th. This will be a dual ordination by UUFP and First UU. I would absolutely LOVE to see you there!

Thanks, UUFP for helping to make me a minister. It’s your receptiveness and enthusiasm that has given me the confidence to practice this amazing and challenging vocation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Farewell, but not Goodbye

  1. Lehni says:

    Chris, I could not be happier or more excited for you as you move forward in your journey. I am glad to have met you here at UUFP and I will miss you. All Blessings be upon you.

Comments are closed.