Sunday Services (February 2015)

Services for February 2015 at the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of the Peninsula

theme: Loving-kindness

February 1st: “Seeking the Golden Snitch”

Sarah DavisSarah Pennington Pierce-Davis is wife to Kirk and mother to Sam.  She writes:

I’ll be sharing my journey from Fundamental Christianity to Unitarian Universalism and how I’m learning to embrace and appreciate my Christian roots while learning from and enjoying the diverse views of my fellow UUs.  After all, as the T-shirt says:  “I’m a Unitarian Universalist:  The bedrock of my faith is the unshakeable belief that your guess is as good as mine.”

I “discovered” Unitarian Universalism when I walked into the UUFP in September 2012.  Since then I have met wonderful friends and found numerous outlets for service.  Some of my more recent activities include the fledgling Lay Pastoral Care program, recently taking over as Chalice Hospitality Team Coordinator, facilitating the occasional care and/or feeding of UUFP members as Co-Chair of the Caring Committee, helping host the annual Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners, and generally swirling around the edges and pitching in when and where I see a need.

February 8th: “Which Chopstick Is the Fork?”

Virginia is for LOVINGFor the last five years, Rev. Andrew (or a guest preacher) has taken the Sunday before Valentine’s Day to address the reasons why Virginia should recognize marriage equality.  Well, at long last it does!  Let’s join in the state-wide celebration that “Virginia is for LOVING” and recommit ourselves to a Commonwealth that celebrates every person’s sexual orientation and gender identity.

February 15th: “Share the Love!”

Share The Love SundayWhat promises do we make as a faith that seeks to harness love’s power to stop oppression?  What do we envision when we sing of a church where race and class unite as equal persons in the search for beauty, truth and right?  What are we doing to confront powers and structures of evil with justice, compassion and the transforming power of love?  What does “standing on the side of love” mean to you?Tret Fure

Special music will be offered by UUFP member Tret Fure!

February 22nd: “This Friendly Place”

“I’m so happy that I’ve finally found a place where I feel I belong.”  “I just knew that this was the right place for me.”  “My friends are here; they know me for who I am.”  “I can be myself, and people love me anyway.”  “People here are so warm and friendly!”  “I can’t imagine feeling so welcome anywhere else.”  “This is where my family wants to be, in this friendly place.”

Special music will be offered by the UUFP’s ChorUUs!

About acmillard

Andrew serves as minister to the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of the Peninsula in Newport News, Virginia.
This entry was posted in Sunday Services and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.