Coming of Age Faith Statement

Shea McIntyre

Before I start my faith statement, I’d like to say I didn’t grow up in a very religious environment. My parents never really enforced any sort of religious conduct on me, and allowed me to form my own opinions. I also moved here from Massachusetts I believe after I finished 1st grade. Thankfully we moved here instead of Topeka, Kansas, otherwise the WBC would be an even bigger pain in my neck today.

Anyway, the first thing I’d like to talk about is my personal beliefs. Due to my seeing of both sides of extremists, one being the overzealous bigots claiming to represent their religion and the other being the overly cynical atheists, I decided to take the neutral ground and say this: I believe no one knows for sure whether or not there’s a god or even an afterlife for that matter, and that we should all just be nice to each other and enjoy life while it lasts. Unless of course, they find a cure for mortality, but I digress.

It took me awhile to warm up to this place after we moved here, because when I was younger, I admit I was kind of a jerk. I didn’t like the idea of being cooped up in a building with a crowd of 5 dozen people inside a big room reciting incomprehensible gibberish that sounded like the dozens of monster-summoning rituals I’ve seen in horror movies. At least, that’s how I saw it as an itty-bitty tot. But with time I realized that this was a great place with super nice people who believed in peace and good will toward the human race. Not to mention it had really awesome food. I really appreciate that everyone here allowed me to form my own beliefs and respected me regardless of who I was or what I believed in. I mean, that could just be the food talking, but you’re really nice people. Give yourselves a pat on the back.

As a closer, I would like to thank John Templeton for being there as my mentor in Coming of Age. I related a lot to him as we are both avid geeks and have similar viewpoints. I admit that it was quite a surprise to find out about his gender fluidity, but I really have no problem with it at all. What matters was that he was there for me and helped me through thick and thin. Props to you, John.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coming of Age Faith Statement

  1. Cathy says:

    That’s my guy! Good Job,Shea.I couldn’t be prouder of you.

Comments are closed.