A Deeper Perspective

Mason Moseley

picture courtesy of
Mason Moseley

Mason Moseley presented this testimonial as part of the August 4th 2013 “How to Listen” service at the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of the Peninsula.

I have participated in two Fellowship Circles, one led by Bob that met at his home and the other led by Jim and Connie that met in the Fellowship’s Caum Room.  Here is how I have learned to be in conversation.  [Here Mason listened intently for a moment.]

Listening is an art.  I had an example early on of how it should be done from my friend Jim.  When talking to him it was obvious he was giving me his full attention, as if what I had to say was the most important event in his world at that moment.

Sharing our daily life stories twice a month is what goes on in Fellowship Circles.  In reviewing a session at its end, members readily admit it took a little extra push to attend on a busy weeknight, but we are so glad we took the effort.

In conversation, I have found these diverse reactions going on in my head: I am trying to organize my story about the subject being discussed or trying to line up my best argument for the issue we are dealing with.  It is a great relief to try to quiet the mind and give full attention to the person speaking.  Often I learn something.

The all-too-brief hospitality half-hour between Sunday morning services barely allows time to say “Hello.”  Fellowship Circles have given me the opportunity to have a deeper perspective on people’s lives — and with people who I might not have spoken with otherwise.  The Fellowship owes a debt to Bob and Alice who got this started and now to Gayle for carrying it on.

It’s not too late to sign up for the Fellowship Circles that are starting soon!

About acmillard

Andrew serves as minister to the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of the Peninsula in Newport News, Virginia.
This entry was posted in Fellowship Circles, Member Testimonial and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.