Heroes & Villains

The world is filled with heroes and villains or so we’re told. Bin Laden is dead and the U.S. is the hero. Bin Laden was the villain. The story is over. We win. I love my country but hate some of its policies. I think from a compassionate view, a view that respects all life, there should be no celebrations. Bin Laden made very bad choices that ended the lives of many people, and the U.S. has made very bad choices that ended the lives of many people. Bin Laden was supported by the U.S. in Afghanistan during the war with the USSR. He was our hero. Thousands of civilians have died in Iraq due to our war. It seems to me that human nature tends to like simple stories with clearly defined heroes and villains. Life rarely complies. Is the line between good and evil separated only by perspective? How do we as UUs define justice?

cwinkley

About cwinkley333

new to UU but not to religion
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Heroes & Villains

  1. David Walsh says:

    Our government functions with the theory that, “The enemy of my enemy is my friend,” which is how we empowered Bin Laden.

    • chrisw says:

      It just seems like war brings more killing which brings more war.The vicious cycle continues.I wonder who the U.S. is empowering in secret right now.

    • David Walsh says:

      Some of the protesters in Libya, I bet.

Comments are closed.